The Foundation is overseen by a 15-member Board of Directors, each of whom is a community member committed to advancing our mission. In addition to generously donating their time and energy, they meet monthly to administer our fiscal policy and overall direction of the organization. Directors are elected by the membership for three-year terms.


Lynn Pechuekonis

Lynn Pechuekonis and her husband are owners of Rockhaven B&B, a 1920s stone foursquare in Harpers Ferry, and are recipients of the Foundation’s 2019 Excellence in Historic Preservation award. She is also a freelance writer, after working in communications for 17 years with the University of Virginia’s School of Education.

Vice Chair

Storm DiCostanzo

Storm DiCostanzo is the CFO and marketing director of an event production company, as well as a writer and musician. Harpers Ferry’s beauty and history first grabbed a piece of his heart in 1976, and he is now proud to call it home. He is passionate about helping bring both towns’ stories to light, and sharing them with the world.


Nadine Snowden

Born in Baltimore, Nadine Snowden is a third-generation resident of Harpers Ferry/Bolivar. After retiring from teaching, Nadine migrated back to the area and resides in the family home. As a child, while visiting with her grandparents, Nadine occasionally attended First Zion Church. She has interest in restoring it to a place where neighbors can gather to participate in (and volunteer for) activities that support community. Nadine envisions an area in the church where children can come to get help with homework.


Carolyn Beyer

Carolyn Beyer is an attorney with more than 40 years’ experience, focusing on family law and litigation. She currently works for Legal Aid in housing law. A Midwestern transplant, Carolyn relocated to Bolivar in 2020 to live closer to her daughters residing in northern Virginia. She joined the Foundation because she believes in the importance of preserving historic structures, and she loves the idea of repurposing the old First Zion Church as a community meeting place.

Board Member

Sandra Marra

Sandra Marra is President and CEO of the Appalachian Trail Conservancy. She has 35 years of professional experience in both the private and nonprofit sectors. Her expertise includes organizational, financial and human capital management, large scale project management, strategic planning development and implementation, and board and staff training and development.

Board Member

Delores Jackson Foster

Delores Jackson Foster is a native of Harpers Ferry.  After graduating from Shepherd College (now Shepherd University), she taught at her former high school, Page-Jackson High School in Charles Town.   She moved to New Jersey and, after 40 years, retired as an Elementary School Principal.   In 2014 she moved back to Harpers Ferry and spends of her time as a volunteer for community agencies.  She is a proud member of the Eastern Panhandle Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, a community service organization.

Board Member

Joe Bosco

Joe Bosco was a resident of Harpers Ferry from 2000 to 2005, during which he served on the Historic Landmarks Commission. Mr. Bosco is an architect with over 40 years of experience in the design and project management of many building types, including historic preservation.

Board Member

Betsy Self

Betsy Self lived in Loudoun County for over 45 years and moved to Bolivar 2 years ago. She is currently Vice President of the Bolivar-Harpers Ferry Library Board and a board member of the Foundation. She volunteers at the Loudoun Hunger Relief facility in Leesburg, VA and has served on numerous boards in Loudoun County over the years.

Board Member

Catherine Payne

Catherine Payne has over 20 years of construction management experience on mid- to large-size commercial building projects, as well as a passionate interest in interior design.  Prior to that, Catherine was an Associate Director at an internationally recognized art gallery. She has lived and worked in several large metropolitan areas and relocated to the Harpers Ferry/Bolivar area 10 years ago while commuting, for several years, to a job in DC.  She finds the unique history of the Harpers Ferry/Bolivar area intriguing and believes that joining the foundation presents an opportunity to increase her community involvement in this historic area.

Board Member

Rachel Mollohan

Rachel Mollohan moved to the Harpers Ferry area in 2017 after living in Washington, DC for eight years. She is interested in working to maintain the history and charm of Harpers Ferry/Bolivar for generations to come. Rachel and her husband just welcomed a baby boy in November 2020.

Board Member

Bonnie Zampino

Bonnie Zampino has a diverse background in human resource administration, grant writing, case management and workforce development, particularly geared toward individuals with barriers to employment. For several years Bonnie was a writer for Huffington Post, and she has written or contributed to numerous publications on the subject of autism. In her free time Bonnie moonlights as a photographer and an historian with a special interest in the Civil War in Bolivar and Harpers Ferry. Bonnie lives in Bolivar with her son, Brendan.

Board Member

Christie May

Christie May moved to Harpers Ferry in 2015 after passing through following an art festival. A love affair with the town was born! She recently made it her full time residence, previously splitting time between Harpers Ferry and Florida. Christie is a professional artist, as well as an amateur lavender farmer and host to historic homes she had restored in town.

Board Member

Noah Friedman

Board Member

Beth Rosenberg

Beth Rosenberg has lived in Jefferson County since 2001 and has resided in Bolivar since 2019.  She retired from Loudoun County Government where she managed state and federal grants that funded housing and community development projects and services to at-risk families and persons experiencing homelessness.  Through this work she was introduced to the complexities and importance and restoring historic properties.  She enjoys learning about the history of Jefferson County and the Bolivar/Harpers Ferry area and is interested in working with the Foundation and the community to preserve and share this rich local history.  Gardening, cycling, and hiking are favorite pastimes.

Board Member

Brad Chandler

The Board of Directors provides direction to and oversight of our Executive Director. The Executive Director is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Foundation.

Executive Director

Ed Wheeless

Ed Wheeless is a retired software engineer. He formerly served as a member of the Harpers Ferry Town Council, Harpers Ferry Budget and Finance Committee, Harpers Ferry Planning Commission and Harpers Ferry Landmarks Commission. He currently serves as a board member for the Harpers Ferry Park Association and the Harpers Ferry Board of Zoning Appeals.